Home > PC parts and Hardware, Reviews > Noctua – NF-P14 FLX Review

Noctua – NF-P14 FLX Review

Wazzzup Dawfreaks, It is time for a new Pc fan review! 
The people over at Noctua has sent me a sample of their NF-P14 FLX Fan.
Noctua is widely known for quality products and consumers with hi demands on both thermal and low noise performance, Noctua has been awarded for many of their products.
Before we go on I would like to thank Noctua for supplying Dawfreak with The NF-P14 FLX.

noctua_logo_b500px4

 

About Noctua

Designed in Austria, Noctua’s premium cooling components are internationally renowned for their superb quietness, exceptional performance and thoroughgoing quality. Having received more than 1000 awards and recommendations from leading hardware websites and magazines, Noctua’s fans and heatsinks are chosen by more than a hundred thousand satisfied customers around the globe.

This text was taken from http://www.noctua.at/main.php?show=unternehmen&lng=en

The NF-P14 FLX

 

noctua_nf_p14_1

Specs

Size

140x140x25 mm
Bearing SSO-Bearing
Blade Geometry NF-P14 Blade Design with VCN
Rotational Speed (+/- 10%) 1200 RPM
Rotational Speed with L.N.A. (+/- 10%) 900 RPM
Rotational Speed with U.L.N.A. (+/- 10%) 750 RPM
Airflow

110,3 m³/h

Airflow with L.N.A.

83,7 m³/h

Airflow with U.L.N.A. 71,2 m³/h

Acoustical Noise

19,6 dB(A)

Acoustical Noise with L.N.A

13,2 dB(A)

Acoustical Noise with U.L.N.A. 10,1 dB(A)
Static Pressure 1,29 mm H2O
Static Pressure with L.N.A. 0,77 mm H2O
Static Pressure with U.L.N.A. 0,53 mm H2O
Input Power 1,2 W
Input Current

0,1 A

Voltage

12 V

MTBF

> 150.000 h

Scope of Delivery

Ultra-Low-Noise Adaptor (U.L.N.A.)
Low-Noise Adaptor (L.N.A.)
Adaptors for 140mm mounting
4 Vibration Compensators
3:4-Pin Adaptor
4 Fan Screws

Warranty

6 years

Unboxing
frontBack

Noctua delivers their products well packed in nice Boxes, giving a great first impression.

 

  box inside

The box has a booklet cover with technical information and installation guide.

unboxed
The NF-P14 comes packed nice and tidy with everything you will need to mount the fan.

included

The included extras 3:4-Pin Adaptor, 4 Fan Screws, Adaptors for 140mm mounting, 4 Vibration Compensators, Low-Noise Adaptor (L.N.A.), Ultra-Low-Noise Adaptor (U.L.N.A.).

Impression
The first thing that strikes me when I see the NF-P14 is the unusual layout of the fan.
The ordinary square fan look is replaced with a nice round frame.
The colors follow the Noctua standard, that people who care allot for esthetics do not like,
Me I want the cooling and acoustics so the colors is of no matter for me. 
The fan blades is a nine blade impeller design with Vortex-Control Notches, for more information on how all this works pleas visit … 
http://www.noctua.at/main.php?show=nf_p14_blade_design&lng=en

The NF-P14 is a 140mm fan with 120mm mounting, a very nice feature for people who want lower noise yet higher airflow. If your case has 140mm mounting holes you can just ad the 4 Fan Adaptors  to extend the fan mounting holes to 140mm mounting.
I like that Noctua included 4 Vibration Compensators it is always a plus to have.
One thing I never liked is the L.N.A and U.L.N.A, I rely wish Noctua would give the users a external fan control option even if it has to be mounted in the back of the case.
All in all the first impression follows the Noctua  standard of quality.

 

Installation, Test summery and and Fan noise.
Installing this fan is dead easy, at first I decided to try the NF-P14 as an exhaust fan, but sadly I found that there was to much noise going and I did not want to pull down the fan speed to much before I tested it fully.
NOW I have to say that this is not The NF-P14´s fault, most who have put some depth into making their pc quiet will know that the exhaust section on a case is a tricky zone.
The grill or stamped out exhaust holes on many cases is the actual cause of bad noise from the exhaust fans, many people simply cutout a big hole so the fan can work without any resistance allowing the air to float freely to achieve max airflow at minimum noise.
I felt that this case pushes allot of air
I placed the NF-P14 on the top 140mm slot of my Define XL case to se where I would end up.
I use the Fractal Design fan controller to be able to find that perfect spot for this fan.
I was stunned directly, I just had to lower the fan speed to about 1000 RPM and the NF-P14 became very VERY quiet in my Define XL case.
I decided to have a look at the temps of my PC.
And since I don’t wont to go all technical here I will just give you a small table of Temps.
Note that the room temps is on the higher side 28c for this test.
This test is meant to be as realistic as I can make it so I ran World of Warcraft for 1 hour before each temp reading was done.

Results

Component

Idle before

Idle with NF-P14

Load before Load with NF-P14
MSI 560 TI 38 34 58 55
Northbridge 50 48 57 54
CPU 42 41 58 55

As you can tell from this table, the NF-P14 FLX does make a difference, all in all it helped my system drop at all temp reading points.

Conclusion
Building a PC for Studio work is tricky, a fast system requires cooling,
A studio pc has to be quiet, so the cooling you get has to be quiet!

Noctua has a true game winner in the NF-P14 FLX, the fan fits most cases on the market with its flexible 120mm / 140mm mounting system.
It is a Fan worth the price of around 21.9 euros, as you get a quality fan that works great.
As an intake fan the NF-P14 FLX rely shines, it is near silent up to about 1000 rpm when used as an intake fan, allowing allot of air to be bushed into the case.
No matter if you are a gamer or studio musician in need of a bit more airflow in your PC case the NF-P14 FLX is a Great buy!!
The only real downside I found is the Noctua L.N.A and U.L.N.A, I have to open the case to change the adapter to change the fan speed……
I would love a external fan controller to allow maximum performance / noise control.

Pros

  • Great performance
  • Quiet
  • Nice extras included
  • Quality
  • Fits both 120mm and 140mm mounting.

Cons

  • No external fan controller
  • Wish I had two!!!

Verdict
Editorsrecommended


Once again I would like to thank Noctua for letting me do this review.

And to you who read this.. THANK YOU!!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

