Home > Other stuff, PC parts and Hardware, Reviews > ZOWIE GEAR – G-TF speed Mouspad review

ZOWIE GEAR – G-TF speed Mouspad review

Whazzup Dawfreaks..
I decided to hand you yet another review today.
This is a special treat for all you musicians who like me do play games as well.
ZOWIE GEAR sent me a G-TF speed Mouspad, and some may see this more as a gamer product!?  However I have to say that it is more then that and I believe this review fits very well in the studio scene and not only in the Gamer Front.

728x90

INTRODUCTION
Studio people working hours at their computer, uses their mouse in greater aspect then some may imagine. Look at all the small adjustments in automations, fiddling with Plugins, swapping drums in their favorite drum sampler and even drawing out the MIDI notes in the MIDI editor many other things.
I have helped setup complete studios for both Home users and Pro´s and I have always been amused with the “don’t waste money on keyboard, mouse and mousepad philosophy”.
Nine out of ten times they bought the cheapest available and then been disappointed.
A couple of my musicians friends that I helped build a PC for music and Gaming never complained about their buy… could be they put some money in it?!
I am not only a musician and reviewer!
Since 2005/2006 I have been playing games on my PC as well, most of the time it has been world of Warcraft, Unreal tournament and Warhammer online.
I enjoy a nice Battleground or a 2 hour shift with Zidaco (Nightelf druid) and I still play World of Warcraft on my Rogue, I can tell you if I had the cheapest possible I would not be able to pick up my guitar after a arena session that’s for sure.
Since about 2007 I started using gamer mousepads and I have to say it did me nearly more good in my studio then in the games, Now I am not saying that it will not make a difference for gaming! its just that a large fast mousepad takes of a huge strain on the arms making the studio work go smother and you can work easier and faster with less tension to your arms.
Lets se how well the ZOWIE GEAR G-TF speed works.

 

About ZOWIE GEAR

ZOWIE GEAR is an innovative manufacturer of competitive gaming gear, founded late 2008 with a mission to develop the best competitive gaming gear available.

We are not limited by shareholders telling us what we can or cannot do. We are a free-minded company consisting of experienced and creative individuals, united in ZOWIE on a common ground; our passion for gaming. No boundaries. No compromises. Just gaming.

ZOWIE GEAR has no ambition to become the biggest manufacturer of competitive gaming gear. We just want to be the best. If we can develop products that will increase a gamers performance by just 1%, we will do it. This is our mentality.

It’s not just a game.
This is ZOWIE GEAR. Strive for Perfection. Source

 

G-TF speed Mouspad
IMG_0560

The G-TF speed mousepad comes in a nice gray box.

Features

  • The speed edition of the popular G-TF – faster than ever
  • Newly designed rubber base for increased stability
  • Liquid resistant surface allows for easy maintenance
  • Triple-stitched edges preventing fray and increases the lifetime of the pad
  • Rolled edges for added comfort while playing
  • 100% compatible with all types of mice
  • Perfectly oversized for gamers & designers: 440 x 320 x 2 mm / 17.3 x 12.6 x 0.08 inch

    Source

  •  

    Click for full size image!

     

    As the features sais the G-TF speed has the measures 440 x 320 x 2 mm, this is a huge mousepad and that I rely love. I used to have a razor mouse that was big but this is even bigger, and the need to lift the mouse due to edges is minima or even NONE!!
    The G-TF is black with a ZOWIE logo on the right top edge and a Spawn logo on the left corner. A nice Border has been added to the G-TF Speed that will help the surface stay intact with the mousepad.

     Click for full size image!

    This image shows the back of the G-TF Speed mousepad, the surface is rubber like and sticky so the mousepad will not me around and that is a great plus.

    Click for full size image!

    Close up image to show the SPAWN logo and also to show the G-TF Surface.

    Looking at the name G-TF speed we understand that this mousepad is to make the mouse movement fast and accurate, a great thing in games but also very important when adjusting advanced features in your DAW software. I spent some time trying it out in Studio One and I notice quickly how easy I could hit correct points when working with some heavy Automations. Speed is most certain the right name for the G-TF Speed mousepad, but accuracy comes along with it. The Surface on the G-TF Speed is remarkable well made and my MX-518 basically fly of the mousepad, and the tension that normally comes in my arms after a long session is less tense.

    I jump into World Of Warcraft and decide to give the G-TF Speed a go of some Battlegrounds with my rogue, For you who play close combat classes in World Of Warcraft you know there is a whole lot of movement going on. I really enjoyed the way the mouse movement and response from my MX-518.
    Next I loaded up an old time favorite Unreal Tournament 4, UT is a good game for testing mouse response and movement.
    I know UT is not the latest game but it is one of my favorites and the 40 min I spent in the game was a blast much thanks to the G-TF speed.

    I also wanted to se how this “Liquid resistant surface allows for easy maintenance” works,
    So I took a a new dish cloth soaked it and wrung it, and then cleaned the G-TF speed .

    IMG_0580
    The results was a nice clean mousepad =)

    Conclusion

    The facts is clear to me, you can not “waste” money on a good mousepad, there is no waste in putting the extra money on a goof mousepad that wont die in 5 minutes and is not big enough to even have your mouse on.
    The G-TF Speed is Priced around $28.99 and that is a very nice price for a mousepad of this size and quality. I love the speed and the accuracy the surface of the G-TF speed gives and no matter if I am working with music or Playing a tens arena battle my mouse responded perfect on the G-TF Speed Mousepad.
    Are you in the market for a new mousepad to your studio, put in some extra money and get a ZOWIE GEAR G-TF Speed, you will not be disappointed.


    Pros

  • Large
  • Great speed and accuracy
  • Price
  • Easy maintenance
  • Cons

  • None
  •  

    The verdict

    Editorsrecommended

     

    I would like to thank ZOWIE GEAR for letting me do this review.

     

    And to all my readers.

    THANK YOU!!!

    1. January 16, 2013 at 2:57 pm

      Seems like u really fully understand quite a bit related to
      this topic and it all shows by means of this unique post, called
      “ZOWIE GEAR – G-TF speed Mouspad review DAWfreak.se”. Thanks
      -Jewell

    1. No trackbacks yet.

    Leave a Reply

